Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
To tell the truth?
 Login/Join

posted
I am an MSW student who will be graduating in August. My school focus has been in mental health working with children, but I am considering renal social work if I can find a position.
Although I lack experience in this area, I do have a pretty solid understanding of the dialysis process, various modes, transplant, renal diet, fluid restrictions, etc. I spent a little over nine years as a patient, during which I did a couple of years of PD before starting on hemo. I am currently 5+ years post-transplant. My question for this group is would I be better of revealing my history in an interview or would it be best to not mention it?

Thanks,

<kokomojo>
posted
Xplant
Consulted with the Clinic Manager of the dialysis unit that is my home clinic and she says yes to mention your medical background as she feels this will give you a good deal of insight into the dialysis field and you will have a unique perspective in seeing things from both sides

disclaimer my thoughts and no one else not no one not nohow Roll Eyes

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
Kokomojo,

Thank you for taking time to research this and respond. My thoughts were that this would be seen in a positive light, but I could also see where an employer might not want to take the risks associated with having an employee with serious health problems.

posted Hide Post
A social worker on the National Kidney Foundation's Council of Nephrology Social Workers' listserv asked me to post this message to you.

Hello Xplant,