Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
chloramine levels high
 Login/Join

posted
This week our outpt dialysis unit closed because chloramine levels were too high. Another source has since informed me that the levels have been high for some time. I have been working dialysis for two years and this makes the second time they have closed their doors due to a gas leak and now this as I have mentioned. My concern lies with the patients, myself and my unborn baby. Does anyone understand how and what tests the unit performs to determine high chloramines? I need a response asap. Thank you.

Posts: 1 | Location: Muncie, IN | Registered: 30 September 2000Report This Post
posted Hide Post
Indy:

Acceptable limits for chloramines per AAMI are 0.1 mg / liter. Elevated levels that are allowed to be utilized in dialysate can cause hemolytic anemia. Chloramine is a chemical frequently added to municipal water supplies to control bacterial contamination.

Ion exchange resins remove all charged ions from the water supply and should be used in conjunction with activated charcoal to remove nonionic contaminants shuch as chlormaine. In dialysis facilities, it becomes most economically efficient to purify the water first by reverse osmosis followed by use of ion exchange resins and charcoal.

What does this really mean? Chloramines are oxidizing agents, and uremic erythrocytes (the red blood cell of the ESRD patient) are unusually susceptible to oxidative injury. When the red blood cell of an ESRD patient is exposed to chloramine, the hemoglobin in the red blood cell oxidizes and clumps to form microscopically visible structures called Heinz bodies. This is the hemolysis or hemolytic anemia that is referred to above.