RenalWEB Home Page    renalweb.groupee.net    RenalWEB Discussion Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Staff Lounge  Hop To Forums  Nurses and Techs    To Our Moderator: Junk Bond Dialysis

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
To Our Moderator: Junk Bond Dialysis
 Login/Join

posted
I've been coming to Renalweb for several years, and have learned a great deal from this forum. With many of the "Home Page" articles, I often see editor's notes referencing the "junk bond" dialysis funding system, the outdated clinical indicators as well as other points that seem to strike a nerve.

Now maybe this is the wrong forum, but for a technical guy, I'm still fascinated with the business side of dialysis. For better understanding, what exactly are you referring to with the "junk bond" funding, and how do you suggest we fix it? Same with the outdated clinical indicators. Do you suggest that we tie reimbursement to things like employment rates among patients?

In my semi-eduated opinion, I feel that we all can benefit from a better understanding of the current dialysis model. I happen to work for the large non-profit you mention, and while I take great pride in our level of care, I wonder how we can continually make improvements with reimbursement that decreases and expenses that increase almost annually. Looking forward to the replies, and hopefully getting a little smarter.

Posts: 325 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 12 April 2012Report This Post
posted Hide Post
S&P has Fresenius as BBB-.
Moody's has Davita as Ba1.

I don't think either rating is considered a "junk-bond" grade.

Chuck

DISCLAIMER : My opinions and views are mine and may not be the same as my employer.

Posts: 1770 | Location: Baltimore, MD USA | Registered: 24 October 2001Report This Post
<my opinion>
posted