New
Find
Notify
Tools
REDY SORBENT TECHNOLOGY
 Login/Join

<old school>
posted
Recently read that FRESENIUS bought the sorbent technology and will roll out their version later this year..Clearly this was the original portable dialysis machine..I believe it is far superior than the NXSTAGE WHAT DO OTHERS THINK WHO HAVE USED THE SORBENT TECHNOLOGY?

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
I have extensive experience both clinically and technically with the REDY machine. Its main use was for performing acute treatments in an ICU where back then, you typically didn't have a water source for a portable RO. Because of its limitations for treatment length and DFR, it really didn't do much more than just enough to keep the patient alive. The sorbent cartridge was also VERY expensive (about $75) and frequently had to be replaced before the end of treatment if the patient was realitively uremic. The cartridge was also non-selective on what it removed from the "dirty" dialysate so the calcium and magnesium had to be continuously replaced by an infusate pump.

From what I read, the new machine can run longer treatments and I'm sure they improved the limited alarm/safety systems of the REDY but, I doubt they did anything to make the cartridges cost effective for chronic use.

Chuck

DISCLAIMER : My opinions and views are mine and may not be the same as my employer.

Posts: 1770 | Location: Baltimore, MD USA | Registered: 24 October 2001Report This Post
<old school>
posted
Hey Chuck,I here you, BUT I hope that the issues that you brought up have been changed.I really loved the REDY and never had any problems after I mastered the infusate pump .PS we used it for acute and chronic patients in the NAVY

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
When you say "in the NAVY", why do I get a Village People disco flashback?

BTW, it looks like I won't be seeing you in Vegas this year.

Chuck

DISCLAIMER : My opinions and views are mine and may not be the same as my employer.