Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Fleck Head Trouble
 Login/Join

posted
I have a water softener with a fleck 2850 head that seems to be giving me some trouble. I thought my resin was fouled so I did the re-bed only to have a >10 delta pressure within days. I can feel a large amount of water running through the drain line while the tank is in the service position. I'm no expert but I thought we shouldn't have drain flow while I'm in the service position. Any idea? I know the media is good but I can't figure out why I have such a large pressure drop. Thanks to all. Cane

<h2otech>
posted
My guess would be you need to rebuild the head. This should be done with the rebed each time.

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
Might just need a spacer/o-ring kit. Most of the times that I've had problems with the timer head, it was because one of the spacers broke.

<Cane>
posted
Head was rebuilt already.

Report This Post
<Pepper>
posted
Check the actual position of the piston when in service mode. Compare it to a working head if possible. The piston can become out of sync with the clock motor if you spin the timer manualy too fast. The rod should be all of the way out in service mode. To correct it, keep moving the timer manualy until the rod is all of the way out, then unplug the power and move the timer to it's correct service position, (switch in the notch).

Report This Post
<spacer/oring kit>
posted
Cane , even though you have rebuilt the head already something is not right with it. I would be almost positive that if you have water going down the drain the spacer and seals kit you put in might not be in correct(missing an oring or its not making a seal). Open the head back up and check your seals and spacers again. The pressure drop is probally from the water going down the drain.

Report This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by spacer/oring kit: