New
Find
Notify
Tools
tech duties??
 Login/Join

<techof3>
posted
Hi, I have been working as a dialysis tech for a total of 8 years my job duties are RO,machine maintaince, labs,stock,helping with pt,everything short of sticking/giving meds. Ga is going to pass dialysis tech (any one providing dialysis care) to be cert.but they droped the pt care tech, and calling as dialysis tech. can any one tell me ,does other machine/reuse/tech have and how much pt contact do they do .thanks techof3

Report This Post
<Atlanta Tech>
posted
Back in the day of single clinic responsibilities and hourly pay. My job description was "POL", painting, odd jobs and landscaping. Or more plainly, "duties as assigned". Key word, "hourly pay".

Report This Post
<Darnerdee CHT>
posted
Sounds like they're trying to get there moneys worth.....Just stick to it bud....We all have to do these things....I don't have to help with PT off hand, but I would if it helps me to keep my job....I've been in this business for 12 years and I've seen a lot of changes....I'm the only Tech at this Clinic and we're doing pretty good. I'm happy with the way things are running for now....Don't worry about it, just do the job.....It could be worse......Think about it.....

Report This Post
<westcoastech>
posted
Depends on what you accept and the conditions you tolerate. Some places are duty specific, and others, especially large corps would use illegal immigrants doing everything under the sun for $5/hr if they could. Just know your own limits and stick to your guns. If pt care is what you like, focus there. If maintenance is your area, try it. Diversity is great, but be careful of getting taking advantage of. If your philosophy is that you get paid hourly, you'll do anything, be prepared to be the "catch all". techof3, sounds like management is grinning, and your company is laughing all the way to the bank. They love the 10 in 1 employees.

Report This Post
posted Hide Post